Homemade Dishwasher Soap

I was once again bitten by the make it yourself bug and came up with a homemade dishwasher soap. Really this came about because I ran out of my normal cascade…

09f96edede497c6c83f75e8b20c69a6c[1]

I began searching online to see what I could find that would be a natural alternative…especially since its a well known fact that the store stuff has chemical stuff.

What I came up with is this:

1 cup washing soda
1/2 kosher salt
1/2 Lemi Shine {citric acid}
some recipes call for 1 cup borax but that is up to you if you want to use that

just use 1 Tablespoon per load!!

and for a natural rinse aid fill the compartment with white vinegar.

Yup, that was easy!! My dishes are just as clean as using the commercial stuff and I know its healthier for me and my family.

Here are some links to the harsh chemicals in the dishwasher soaps.

11 Ingredients to avoid
Wikipedia definition of detergent
How toxic are your household cleaners?

One thought on “Homemade Dishwasher Soap

Tell Me Your Thoughts

